Confessions of A So-called Middle Child

Confessions of A So-called Middle Child

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1

Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself.

Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission--she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ("Marta the Farta"), and become her friend.

Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way.

Publisher: New York : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2014.
ISBN: 9780062126917
Characteristics: 278, 8 pages ;,20 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
anitalee6923
Feb 15, 2018

There’s a lot of birth order stereotyping in the two books. They’re not necessarily true for everyone, but overall I loved this book! The narrator is/was a bully. She had insecurities but becomes a hero by the end of the second book. It shows the good side of her, that she’s somehow good on the inside... it’s just that she seemed too people pleasing and cared too much about popularity at school. At the very end, the most bullied girl changes her life and viewpoint.

l
LifeLoverSam
Jul 30, 2016

Learn how you could become a better and improved person !! :D Funny book alright !! ;)

b
BUNBUN1978
Apr 11, 2014

does this book get any better a few chapters in an I cannot stand the main character.

c
copicmarker
Feb 20, 2014

so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
LifeLoverSam
Jul 30, 2016

LifeLoverSam thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top