Napoleon's Buttons

Napoleon's Buttons

How 17 Molecules Changed History

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
The authors present a surprising history of the world--told on a chemical continuum of why things happened rather than when. This fascinating book tells the stories of 17 molecules that, like the tin of Napoleon's coat buttons, greatly influenced the course of history.
Publisher: New York : Putnam, c2003.
ISBN: 9781585422203
1585422207
Characteristics: 375 p. :,ill. ;,24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Burreson, Jay 1942-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
ang_reads
Jul 01, 2017

I really enjoyed this book, but I've always had an interest in chemistry. There were so many compounds, which were seemingly unrelated, interwoven between the chapters. The writing style helped me to remember previous chapter material better than I normally do in popular science books. It's amazing to think that parts of human history would be entirely different if one small atom was exchanged for another - whether it be slavery or drug addiction or pesticides, etc. I wish that my chemistry courses had had a book like this in them.

If you don't have much of a chemistry background and are curious, this book does attempt to teach you some basic chemistry. I think with grade 12 chemistry or higher, it's easily understandable.

t
tdmenten1
Jul 25, 2013

Finally! This was a slow, deliberate read for me. The information in this text is compelling on a lot of levels - I love the connections between chemistry, history, culture, geography, etc. The inclusion of the drawings of chemical structures was hard for me to wrap my brain around because it has been SO LONG since I've taken chemistry that a lot of it was over my head. But it was valuable in that it helped me understand how really small changes created totally different reactions in the molecules.

csmo Apr 02, 2013

an exellent study of the trade in rare natural organic compandsd andartical ones and their effects on history.

Subhajitsaha95 Jul 02, 2012

This book will help people with understand chemistry! It really helped me, and the book is really interesting!

g
Geophile
Apr 08, 2009

Great book, combining history with basic chemistry (for the lay person). Short stories about various substances, and how they may have changed history. This book should appeal to fans of Jay Ingram and Joe Schwarcz.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top